Trainers Celebrate 26th Anniversary with a Fun Shoot, Awards Outstanding Personnel

03 August 2017

Over the years, the 228th Transport Crew Training Squadron proudly stood as a reliable and responsive training unit of the 220th Airlift Wing whose mission remains to be vital in religiously implementing the Wing's training programs.

Ensuring a sufficient pool of trained and skilled personnel through extensive training was never an easy. But all of these were carried out successfully through the commitment of each personnel. The collective efforts to act on their mandate have been their pledge through the years. Consequently, programmed training courses were completed in record time.

With the theme, "Train Hard, Fly Easy”, the squadron celebrated its 26th Founding Anniversary on August 01, 2017, highlighting the conduct of a Fun Shoot 2017, which was participated by all unit commanders and staff as well as other officers.

The competition was divided into two categories: Team vs Team and Man vs Man. The Wing Commander, 220th AW, Col Stephen P Parreño PAF (GSC), emerged the over-all champion in the Man vs Man category while Maj Ronald Christopher F Loayon PAF finished first runner-up. For the Team vs Team category, the Team 4 led by Lt Col Ric Michael G Baring PAF was declared as champion while Team 2 headed by the Wing's Director for Operations, Col Federico S Enriquez PAF (MNSA), ended up as first runner-up.

Meanwhile, the Squadron Commander, Maj Ronel L Salas PAF, in his welcome remarks expressed his gratitude to all personnel who joined the celebration. He also thanked the Wing Commander for the support he has provided as well as the inspiring leadership he has showed to continue sustaining the momentum. He also enumerated all the significant accomplishments of the squadron through the mnemonic words, “Train Hard, Fly Easy.”

Apart from the competition, the squadron also recognized the following personnel who emerged a cut above the rest, whose initiatives created positive impact on the quality of training:

Officer of the Year - Maj Jonelle D Beltran PAF

NCO of the Year - TSg Ferdinand B Almeñana PAF

Airman of the Year - A1C Steve A Sagmon PAF

Further, the following non-organic personnel were given Certificates of Appreciation for all their support to the accomplishment of the mission:

Cpt Hilbert C Macola PAF

SSg Marlon C Urdaneta PAF

SSg Chester B Macaraya PAF

During his speech, the Wing Commander extended his heartfelt felicitations to all trainers in the observance of its anniversary celebration. He also commended the unit for all its accomplishment for the past year, particularly the improvement of facilities as evidenced by the new flight simulator building and student's lounge, and maintaining the level of excellence in all training programs. Before he finally ended his speech, he reiterated his command thrust on keeping that collective “sense of urgency” to respond to increasing demands.

Courtesy of 220th AW