15th SW Goes 44 ; CG, PAf Holds Pre-Christmas Visit

01 December 2017

“Here at 15th Strike Wing, every single day is our defining moment. Big or small, these moments shape and change us, whose impact either make or break each and every one of us. There will be years to come when this Wing with its men and women face moments and I am confident that they will continue to rise to such occasions in the same way their predecessors did, gallant, brave and selfless. Never cease to create your own defining moment and become inspirations.”

This was the statement of Brigadier General Pelagio R Valenzuela AFP, Wing Commander of 15th Strike Wing, as the Wing celebrated its 44th Founding Anniversary on November 27, 2017 held at Major Danilo Atienza Air Base, Sangley Point, Cavite City.

For this year’s anniversary, Brigadier General Valenzuela made highlight of the Wing’s “defining moments” citing the Wing’s achievements over the years. It is worthy to note that this year’s guest of honor, Lieutenant General Galileo Gerard R Kintanar Jr, 35th Commanding General of the Philippine Air Force, was once its Wing Commander. According to Brigadier General Valenzuela, at the time the CG, PAF was its Commander, his vision of a capable, relevant and modern unit defined the present Strike Wing today.

And to celebrate the Wing’s outstanding performance, various units, individuals, and private and non-private organizations were awarded and acknowledged for their great contribution. The following were:

Gold Cross Medal: Lt Col Jeffrey Abegail C Morales PAF Major Edwin L Parcia PAF Major Virgilio P Sagge Jr PAF 1Lt Ian Gerru C Pasinos PAF

Bronze Cross Medal: Captain Mark James S Villena PAF 1Lt Kathlyn D Cayabyab PAF

Military Merit Medal: TSg John C Larisma PAF A2C Bylon C Valencia PAF

Rated Officer of the Year – Major Ruel C Acero PAF

Non-Rated Officer of the Year – Captain Carmelito C Aquino Jr PAF

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year – TSg Greg D Murillo PAF

Airman of the Year – A1C Jesus D Delector PAF

Civilian Employee of the Year – Mr Ray Anthony S Junquera CE

Group of the Year - 460th Maintenance and Supply Group

Tactical Squadron of the Year – 17th Attack Squadron

Special Recognition: 520th Air Base Wing

710th Special Operations Wing

410th Maintenance Operations Wing

600th Air Base Group

Composite Wing Savings and Loans Association Inc

City Government of Cavite City

Honorable Dennis Bernal

Provincial Government of Cavite

ACDI Multi-Purpose Cooperative

Armed Forces and Police Savings and Loans Association Inc

Julian Felipe Elementary School

Prior to the event, a wreath laying ceremony at the Heroes Monument was carried out together with the CG, PAF. It was then followed by the conduct of Wall of Fame Ceremony and Signing of Sports Jersey at the 16th Attack Squadron.

The anniversary celebration also served as a great venue for the CG, PAF to hold his pre-Christmas visit. He had the opportunity to talk to the men and women of 15th Strike Wing and delivered inspiring message for everyone.

After the pre-Christmas visit, Lieutenant General Kintanar toured around the facilities of the Wing.